Hjoån, which today divides the town in two parts, used to be the north border. Here, Norreport customs house was built in 1671 where tradesmen, craftsmen and farmers paid a fee to bring their goods into town.
Countryside trading was against the law and it was the job of the burghers to put marketplaces at the disposal of traders as well as to provide the upkeep of fences and custom points.
The present customs house is from the first half of the 18th century and contributes in its own indispensable way to the special character of Hamngatan.
Since the abolishment of Lilla tullen at the beginning of the 19th century, the building has housed various activities such as a candy store, clothes shop and tapestry workshop.